Author Topic: Help Need help fixing my baby  (Read 13981 times)

xavierelgrande

Help Need help fixing my baby
« on: July 16, 2015, 11:47:43 pm »
Hello y'all I have a 1982 Honda Ascot ft500 that i am trying to bring back from the death it have been sitting outside for the last year and i decided to buy it for 140. here its the thing my bike does not want to start it will make clicking noises but wont turn over it have a brand new battery and sparkplug and oil. sometimes it will start if i put a screw driver in between the 2 bolts in the starter solenoid. any idea what may be cause in it to no start by the start butting in the handle?????? PLEASE HELPP thank u....

PS... This its my first bike. So i have no knowledge at all.

triguyracer

Re: Help Need help fixing my baby
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2015, 11:03:47 am »
Sounds like you have a bad connection at the handlebar switch,first I would try using a electric spray cleaner on the switch just make sure it is a electronic cleaner and not carb clean or another type of cleaner as other cleaners besides electric cleaner will damage the plastic parts,you can spray some into the switch without removing it ,spray it into the button on the switch .if that does not work you might have to take the switch apart and clean the contact by hand,from what you say this just sounds like a connection problem.Remember to unhook the ground wire on your battery before you work on and disassemble any electrical stuff so you do not short out anything ,make sure all the conections do not have any oxidation on them as this will cause there to be a lot of resistance in any connection

xavierelgrande

« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2015, 02:57:32 pm »
Alright Will Do thanks I let u guys know how it went.

scottly

• Humboldt, AZ USA
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2015, 08:42:01 pm »